It Doesn’t Get Better Than This (music-wise) in Dallas

Screen shot 2013-04-28 at 11.58.25 AM

NEEDTOBREATHE – 2013 Drive All Night Tour at the Palladium / Photo by Rachel Duke

Last night’s NEEDTOBREATHE concert at the Palladium was even more awesome than I anticipated in my earlier blog post — due mostly to the sort of random, unplanned series of events, and the fact Chris came with me, which made it THAT much more awesome.

The doors opened at 8, so we wanted to get there right around that time. By the time we left the house we realized we didn’t have enough time to sit down and have a nice, chill dinner beforehand. Pulling up to park, Chris made a crack at the fact there would have been 14-year-old fan girls in line all day. I scoffed laughingly thinking he was seriously joking. WRONG. I so ate my doubts. There they were, skinny jeans and all, in masses lined up outside the venue door. I couldn’t believe it. I had seen them last year at the House of Blues, and there wasn’t anything like this.

Chris and I laughed so hard, and as we found the back of the line (a few blocks later) I teasingly pointed out that there were 40-year-olds at the back of the line, so Chris didn’t have to feel like he was the oldest guy there. We decided we weren’t going to get near the stage anyway, and didn’t want to spend the next half hour standing in line.

As luck would have it, I had done a photo shoot with TWG (magazine) earlier that week at the NYLO Hotel, which is a few blocks down from the Palladium. Afterwards the photographer treated my team to some drinks at this charming industrial-looking restaurant called Full Circle Tavern (check them out). Chris and I decided to have a drink and eat dinner. The weather was perfect and we sat right next to one of the big doorways (which are really those garage doors with all the windows, rolled up) for the next hour. The line grew to where people were lined up outside the restaurant. When we finished we hopped right in line and it began moving. Such an awesome and convenient turn of events!

We ended up standing in the middle of the wide, yet deep room. I expected to bump into people I knew that were going, but didn’t. NEEDTOBREATHE had never played to a crowd this big at one time in Dallas. There had to be at least 2,000 people in one space. It was so fun to sing along, jump up and down and let the inner 14-year-old out a little bit, which cracked up my boyfriend.

Here’s a short clip I managed to get of one of the songs they performed last night (Drive All Night — duh)

Leave a Reply

