Books: A Gift That Keeps on Giving

207798970276801512_dIRIRZYw_c

“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr. Seuss

Growing up, I couldn’t get enough of books. So much so, my parents would ban reading after 9 0′ clock at night. But, my little rebel heart found ways around that rule. No reading after certain hours, just meant a little flashlight and book under the covers. I’d try not to get so lost in the book in order to be alert to any movement towards or outside my door. Not saying this was a fool-proof plan…

My first “big girl” book, with chapters in it, was Nancy Drew “Skeleton in the Closet” by Carolyn Keene. It was my mom’s book as a girl. Yes, I ended up asking for the whole set, and accumulated it over several birthdays and Christmases. I’m really glad I had a brother who loved to read as much as I did. No, he did NOT read Nancy Drew, for the record.

As a child, and even now as an adult, I’m drawn to books of historical fiction, intrigue, fiction, and yes….a little romance for the romantic in me. I think reading books and authors like C.S. Lewis and his “The Chronicles of Narnia,” J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings,” and Jane Austen (among many others), shaped my love for words and writing.

Now, as an adult, I have to be even more intentional with my reading. Often, I’m juggling two or three books at a time. Through college, and even now, I struggle at making time to read. I am often surprised to learn how many people really don’t like to read. Reading does wondrous things for your vocabulary, your imagination and for your education!!

I came across this article from the Wall Street Journal on Facebook. A friend had shared the link on her profile. It’s titled: How to Raise Boys Who Read. The writer shares some great insight just about reading and education in general.

Speaking of C.S. Lewis, she quotes him in this article:

Education was once understood as training for freedom. Not merely the transmission of information, education entailed the formation of manners and taste. Aristotle thought we should be raised “so as both to delight in and to be pained by the things that we ought; this is the right education.”

“Plato before him,” writes C. S. Lewis, “had said the same. The little human animal will not at first have the right responses. It must be trained to feel pleasure, liking, disgust, and hatred at those things which really are pleasant, likeable, disgusting, and hateful.”

WHAM! This is so true about myself. Anything good or worthwhile usually doesn’t mean it will be the easiest, most natural thing or be on the path of least resistance.

 

Leave a Reply

