Traffic Thoughts

dal2

Today was my typical weekday commute of fighting traffic all the way to work. I was on Dallas North Tollway driving along, and I was keeping distance between me and the car ahead of me, but still going over the speed limit. The Jeep behind me got impatient and moved into the lane next to me and pulled alongside me, glaring at me in annoyance and his face twisted in anger. I was incredulous that he was painting me as the “mean bad guy.” His lane suddenly slowed and he was soon out of my sight. I shook my head and said aloud to myself, “Dude, I’m actually helping us both by keeping enough distance between me and the car ahead so that if I had to slam on my brakes, you won’t plow into me.”

Then I thought how we, as short-sighted humans with selfish tendencies, often don’t see love as love, but as a hindrance or cruelty. It reminded me of how this is how we can view what the Lord does at times. “For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it” (Hebrews 12:11). We see something that looks “mean” or “bad,” but He’s really loving us, growing us, and being gracious.

Leave a Reply

