Making the Man Show His Cards

This clip shared on Facebook by one of my dear friends, Ashlee Glock, reminded me of the sweet fellowship I shared last night and questions my small group girls and others (myself included) ask and wrestle with — this dilemma and fighting cultural standards and “modernism” in the way relationships work. Here’s a clip from Mark Driscoll, pastor of Mars Hill Church, answering the question: Should a woman pursue a man?

Some of my favorite quotes from this clip:

No, but she can tell him to get off the pot.

Too many Christian guys are cowards. That’s why so many non-Christian guys pursue Christian women, because those women are waiting for any men who will initiate leadership and courage.

So many guys say, “Well I don’t want to be rejected.” Well you know what? Being rejected is part of being a man.

4 thoughts on “Making the Man Show His Cards

  1. Self proclaimed coward here. In many ways I’m willing to put my feelings aside on behalf of my friends. In some ways it is painful, but in others I feel great joy when I see my friends happy. I have the double edged sword of being both picky and fearful of rejection, namely because I’m terrible with timing. It is something to work on.

    I haven’t watched the video yet, but this issue has been something that I’ve pondered and brought up to others, especially regarding the state of the church. “Why aren’t there many couples formed at Catalyst? Is it because there’s more guys than girls? Is it a maturity issue? Do the men and women in the church feel more comfortable dating someone that is not in the church? Should we do our best to encourage meet ups with other churches so that people can meet more people?” Yes. Church elders think of these things. If the congregation doesn’t grow up, then the church doesn’t either. And by growing up, I mean going through the process of adulthood where one thinks about starting a family. And with that, one thinks about relationships. Is it wrong to think about these things? I wouldn’t think so. Ultimately, it would be two people who desire God that are willing to share themselves with each other as God’s children. (I will admit that trying to pair up people can be fun though.)

  2. “Too many Christian guys are cowards. That’s why so many non-Christian guys pursue Christian women, because those women are waiting for any men who will initiate leadership and courage.”

    Rachel – has that been your personal experience,too?

    • Seen. Heard. Experienced. Yes, Joe 🙂 But I’ve also been encouraged by the conduct, courage and desire for holy living in a few, rare young men, even if they know and admit they still struggle with trusting, rejection or bungling it.

Leave a Reply

