NEEDTOKNOW

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” – Aldous Huxley 

Ok, I know this is different from “the usual” although I’d like to point out that I named my website Rachel’s Randomness for a reason; and for those of you who know me well, know this is part of the color, flare, and, dare I say it……randomness of ME.

Besides listening to GLEE…::waits to hear the jokes and laughter before continuing:: my top two favorite artists at present are NEEDTOBREATHE and Jon McLaughlin (most likely having to do with the fact they’ve both released new albums recently). They have a great spectrum of emotion and grippingly insightful lyrics. Meaning, they’re not just “man-hater” songs or about how so and so cheated and all they have left are betrayed feelings, a dog and a beat up Chevy.

In talking with various acquaintances, I was shocked to hear most had never heard of NEEDTOBREATHE or Jon McLaughlin ::shaking head:: I do realize, however, that many people don’t have my tastes (superior as they are ::she adds in jest::). But I have a feeling many of you will be delighted by this small music “ear”-opener. So in a nutshell, you NEEDTOKNOW about these artists. ::she coined trying to be clever::

NEEDTOBREATHE hails from Seneca, South Carolina and are referred to as American Christian Rock. The band is composed of Bear Rinehart, Bo Rinehart, (brothers….duh, Rachel), Seth Bolt, and Joe Stillwell (everyone loves a good drummer). They have released four studio albums, their most recent being this September’s release of The Reckoning. These are boys from the South so you know they’re no “sissies” (i.e. Bear was a beast on his football team at Furman University, with the reputation of an excellent wide receiver. His brother studied architecture at Clemson University).

If any of you have watched the movie Enchanted, you know who Jon McLaughlin is….and you know because he’s the guy who sang “So Close” in the dance scene/ball (hint: the scene where all the girls were sighing, “Awwwwwww….”) when Patrick Dempsey and Amy Adams danced together (a little bit of trivia for you there). This is a guy who can play the piano. Amazing stuff coming from a guy who couldn’t stand piano lessons as a child and who shattered both wrists in highschool interrupting his “musical expression.” Look him up. Neat guy. Extraordinary story. Just released his newest album, Forever If Ever. Best yet.

Two of my favorite songs from these artist’s albums. Read the lyrics, listen and decide for yourself:

Pain is alive in a broken heart
The past never does go away
We were born to love
And we’re born to pay
The price for our mistakes

Grace, she comes with a heavy load
Memories, they can’t be erased
Like a pill I swallow, he makes me well
And leaves an awful taste

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only love can go
There is a place only you can go

Take my notions and words to heart
This is the cry of a man
I can’t bring you fortune or noble life
But I’ll love you all I can

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only you can go

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only love can go
There is a place only you can go

Note: lyrics are in the video.

Shalom,

Rachel B. Duke 

Leave a Reply

