Choices = Consequences

I wanted to share something that I hope you will be encouraged by and that I feel God’s Word is constantly commanding and wooing us to do.

There is an issue of the heart that keeps plaguing and troubling me: I want to guard my heart from allowing my circumstances and/or bitterness to rob me, not only of the joy found in Christ, but from keeping me from seeing clearly and following the path set before me. It scares the crap out of me. Because I know that every choice I make has its long term and immediate consequences. I know all of you can relate on some level and have wrestled with it more than once.

The question

Here is the question I keep asking myself and that I finally ask aloud to my dad last night: “I don’t want to miss, because of my sin/deep-rooted pride and stupid decisions, what God in Christ has for me. How, how do I know?” My dad looked back at me and said, “You know how you best do that? Immerse yourself in the Word. James 1:25 says: But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”

This morning, I was once again reminded of that conversation and how I often wrestle with God and I just flat out shock myself that I would even ascertain the thought that I better know what I need than God does. How arrogant is that?! Anyway, as I was saying, I’m reading through a book “Readings for Meditation and Reflection,” from C.S. Lewis’ various books.

The passage

When we want something other than the thing God wants us to be, we must be wanting what, in fact, will not makes us happy. Those Divine demands which sound to our natural ears most like those of a despot and least like those of a lover, in fact marshall us where we should want to go if we knew what we wanted. He demands our worship, obedience, our prostration. Do we suppose that they can do Him any good, or fear like the chorus in Milton, that human irreverence can bring about “His glory’s diminution”? A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship him than a lunatic can blot out the sun by scribbling the word “darkness” on the wall of his cell…

We are bidden to “put on Christ,” to become like God. That is, whether we like it or not, God intends to give us what we need, not what we now think we want. Once more, we are embarrassed by the intolerable compliment, by too much love, not too little.

– The Problem of Pain (Chapter 3)

Peace out,

Rachel B. Duke

2 thoughts on “Choices = Consequences

  1. I was actually looking up information on a friend of mine (Rachel Duke) who was arrested in Memphis on a drug charge. I stumbled across your page and needless to say, it was a breath of fresh air…..

    • I am very glad you “stumbled” across my website and that it was such a breath of fresh air to you. Thank you for sharing…it’s always so encouraging to me as a writer and individual to hear how others are impacted. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

