A Room of One’s Own

“It is not what we say or feel that makes us who we are – it is what we do, or fail to do.” – Marianne Dashwood

As I look around my bedroom, at my parent’s house, that I have just decorated, put my signature on, and made my own, and with all that lies ahead with the last semester of college beginning and looking ahead to graduation – I can’t help but recall to mind Gandalf’s words in The Return of the King: “The board is set, the pieces are moving…”

Yes as you can conclude from the above paragraph, I have decided to stay at home, rent-free, for my last semester. I had been looking and had thought I’d found something, but it fell through. The Lord convicted me through a series of events that staying at home, although not at the top of my list in living options, was the best route to take – I’m trusting Him entirely on this because I know if I don’t, I will somehow regret it forever. God is good. I love my parents, even if mom is overbearing at times – at least I know I am loved and cared for and the best is desired for me. It’s a win/win in a sense – I’d be working and saving up money and my parents wouldn’t have to help me with the rent and mom gets to keep her only and oldest daughter at home – so we’re all happy. I’m praying hard for grace and patience to survive…haha! I truly have so much to be grateful for!!!

It’s also weird not having cable to watch my favorite tv shows such as: White Collar, Covert Affairs, Burn Notice, and Royal Pains. But I’ve finally got onto Hulu’s schedule (they don’t air the episodes now until a week and a day after…). Thank goodness for Hulu!

So yesterday, my dad and I had been discussing “Real Christianity” by William Wilberforce (who almost single-handedly abolished the slave trade among other things in England), when my dad out of the blue asked if I’d ever think of starting my own book club. I just stared at him, at a loss for a moment of what to say. I really liked the idea, then was immediately sad to realize that I don’t have really any friends here in Dallas (unlike while I was in D.C., which made me miss D.C. even more) with the motivation to pick up a book, let alone discuss, analyze one, and take time to get together – maybe I should find new friends or diversify? As Aro in the movie, New Moon, said: “This is a sadness.” Haha!

This has been an odd second week at home, but a great one in many ways – but I won’t bore you with the details that I seem to find interesting…haha! Well I’m off to bed – church tomorrow morning – going to brave and try out the young adult’s class – fun….

Peace out,

Rachel Duke

Leave a Reply

