Tides of Time

“It’s just such a pretty boat — ship!” – Captain Jack Sparrow

For the past few days it feels as if I am walking around in a daze – of course allergies and lack of sleep don’t help that “heady,” out-of-this-world, foggy feeling. I have literally been soaking up every moment like a sponge and reliving memories I will forever cherish of this summer in D.C. 

Only three days left of my internship at The Washington Times. I love my girls here (Michal, Hillary, Katie, and Michelle) and the talks, laughs, frustrations, and lunches we’ve shared with each other. We have rooted for, encouraged, and uplifted each other over these past few months. 

Last week was a great, productive week overall. I really have gotten to cover and write about some exciting issues. Last Wednesday (July 28th) I made a guest appearance on the Rick Amato show, where I talked on the air:  http://www.wsradio.com/player/wsradio-player2.cfm/type/windows/show/Washington-Times-Inside-the-Story-Radio/segment/33719.html about my article on the case of Jennifer Keeton v. Augusta State University: https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/jul/26/lawsuit-claims-school-bias-on-christian-views/

In lieu of me getting my own apartment one of these days soon and of my love for the unique things and colorful details of life, Hillary opened my eyes up to a whole new world and level of creative – take a look:http://www.etsy.com/shop/urbanwalls?ref=seller_info

Also, NEWS FLASH – I got to go sailing for the first time in the 22 years of my life this past Saturday!!!! Doug, a friend of a guy I know, has a 30 ft. rig docked in Annapolis, MD. What an adventure of a lifetime! Made my appetite to learn more about sailing grow all the more – talk about awesomeness!!! We spent several hours out in the water and I even got to have a go at steering the boat — ship — whatever you’d like to call it – haha! My dream to, not only get out on the water this summer, but go sailing, came true this weekend. I am beyond thankful to the one person who made this all possible!!! I LOVE Annapolis – “I could happily live there for some time,” as Westley says in “Princess Bride.” I’ve been there four times this summer, and every time has been more incredible and fun than the time before. There is also this amazing little place tucked away by the docks, called Mexican Cafe – one of the neatest, best, little places I’ve been to. They have the best frozen strawberry margaritas – booyah!!!

Frontline Church at Tyson’s Corner was great last night! Todd is in a series called “It’s Complicated” – a play off the facebook status. He did a two-part message on Biblical manhood and womanhood (what to look for in your future spouse). Last Sunday, Todd specifically addressed the men and this Sunday he addressed the women on two key qualities that we tend to struggle with the most: Contentment and Control. Great message and I would encourage you ladies, and men (very applicable to you as well) to listen to it: http://www.frontlinedc.com/pages/page.asp?page_id=95033

Well, I’m going to wrap up this neat little package and get back to work. Victor just gave me another story to work on. I’ve been tweaking my “Shelley Lubben story” (as I refer to it) this morning and just finished enjoying a nice lunch with the girls.

Peace out,

Rachel Duke

One thought on “Tides of Time

Leave a Reply

