Winds of Change

“People are always saying that change is a good thing. But all they’re really saying is that something you didn’t want to happen at all…has happened. Soon, it’ll be just a memory. But the truth is…I’m heartbroken. I feel as if a part of me has died…and no one can ever make it right.” – Kathleen Kelly (You’ve Got Mail)

At this very moment in history, I’m sitting in the comfy, white leather recliner, in comfy boxer shorts and a tshirt, on a cool Friday evening, watching Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan in “You’ve Got Mail.” Love their playful, witty, and sometimes biting banter.

Today has been such an emotional day for me – the realization that I have only a WEEK left before I’m back in Dallas – has made me cry tears inside and out. When I got home from having coffee with Natalia, Michal looked at me from her perch by the window and said, “Are you okay? You look distressed.” I went over to her and gave her a huge, long hug and as I did big tears welled up in my eyes and I clung to her more tightly. She is my ‘Elinor’ (Sense and Sensibility). Now that the time has come for me to leave D.C., I find myself very relunctant to go for several reasons.

I will now list some of those reasons. One, I will miss my awesome roomie that God blessed me with – I might be lost without her. Michal has made these three months so amazingly full of fun – great girl dates and memories – I have never laughed so much and so hard in my life. She brings such sunshine and sense into my world. I will also miss the friends I have made here. Plus, I have lived here for three months straight and this place has changed me so much and become a part of me. I have gotten into this routine – however crazy it may have been. I have enjoyed my internship at The Washington Times.

There is so much to be done when I return: my last semester of classes at SMU, friends to catch up with, finding a place to live, getting a temporary job/internship, looking for a job after graduation, etc. These are some crazy years of change. It’s sort of scary to go home to all that. While Dallas feels like a faint, distant memory, this summer is already beginning to feel so surreal. Thank goodness for blogs!

In class today we watched a DVD on Ronald Reagan and I fell in love. I have always heard of him, how great he was, and even have a signed letter from him congratulating my parents on my birth in 1988. Until I saw this video I didn’t realize how great a man he actually was and my admiration and respect for him instantly grew a hundred-fold. President Reagan wrote his own speeches and had such a charisma and compassion for people. I got all emotional and tears rolled down my cheeks as I watched the video that followed and summed up his presidency.

It is hard to let go. What a wild roller coaster ride this summer has been, with a few episodes of whiplash. God has been awesome through it all. This will be one of my last blogs from D.C., if not the last one.

Peace out,
Rachel Duke

Leave a Reply

